1967 Vietnam US Leg Holster Pilot Survival Kit Review Vintage Military Gadget Testing

Nov 1, 2018
1 989 410 Views

This Vietnam era helicopter pilot survival kit came packed in a drop leg holster that included a hand radio, strobe light, hunting knife, and a main container with another 50+ survival items. Only 100 were ever issued and were used by non-ejection seat pilots in Vietnam in 1967. It was never fully adopted due to giving pilots a limp and being cumbersome. Thus being replaced by the SRU-21/p vest. We briefly show that vest in this video and it is the next to be reviewed.
Table of contents for anyone who would like to skip around a little bit.
Intro, Radio, Strobe Light, & Camillus Knife: 0:00 - 5:09
Main Kit Pt. 1: 5:10 - 21:06
Fishing Kit & Mosquito Headnet & Mittens: 21:07 - 24:27
Main Kit Pt. 2: 24:28 - 35:50
Signal Kit: 35:51 - 37:01
Conclusion & Credits: 37:02 - 39:05

For correspondence, or to send a Military Ration for review, my mailing information is:
Steve1989
3616 Harden Blvd
#360
Lakeland, FL 33803
www.mremarketplace.com/
www.mreinfo.com/
www.patreon.com/user?u=2821334&ty=h
And thank you everyone for watching & subscribing - hope
you enjoyed this one, as I certainly did making it!
-Steve
** All Music By: Steve1989 MREinfo **

Check out the other awesome YT reviewers:

Oldsmokey:
uskeys.net/channel/UCL1wSC0Ntw8KWgTM-TRHFOQ.html
RC Gusto:
uskeys.net/channel/UCfBEYgWflPKsDI_i6AmD5sA.html
gschultz9:
uskeys.net/user-gschultz9
Delicious: uskeys.net/channel/UCo9H0eftrfhVbu9BsrZzK5g.html
stickyfingaz745:
uskeys.net/channel/UChEqR37txqYozXbbitVDd7A.html

gundog4314:
uskeys.net/channel/UC7dAKknI_zWUNcz36T0Lp6w.html
emmymadeinjapan: uskeys.net/channel/UCzqbfYjQmf9nLQPMxVgPhiA.html
Kiwi Dude:
uskeys.net/channel/UCIUTBxBxmMMY2bUJqYITJxw.html

Paul Buikema:
uskeys.net/channel/UCQ51mn3lFHIyMYxX74ViCPg.html
Elandil:
uskeys.net/channel/UCspVo4xdz9JPpPV6d6jp9wQ.html
MrBrowningm1911
uskeys.net/channel/UCVoA8_rDsAcMF2UkfCO4n4A.html
dingo7055:
uskeys.net/channel/UCU8dvHS5J4Kqn79p6ScmWqw.html
SparrowMedicine:
uskeys.net/channel/UC8TnFxqRz-PTS-yowf6S5kw.html
LET'S GET THIS OUT ONTO A TRAY, NICE™
NICE HISS™
I'LL BE COMING BACK AT YOU WITH SOMETHING NEW OR OLD, ALRIGHT COOL SEE YA™

Comments
  • I cant believe that beacon works.

    Joachim HansJoachim HansDay ago
  • Wow so much item on small packing

    Bright BeemBright BeemDay ago
  • Wait, what? No hiss today?

    Thargellor2Thargellor2Day ago
  • Smells light mothballs and old books

    AlmightyTweeAlmightyTwee2 days ago
  • But can you listen in to the "Wasteland" radiostations??? 😉

    johnsamujohnsamu8 days ago
  • I am pretty sure the RT-10 radio is just a vape build

    Justin Bassett-GreenJustin Bassett-Green9 days ago
  • Looking at the 1976 radio and thinking how old it is and then quickly remembering I was born that year.

    StephenStephen12 days ago
  • A lot of stuff in there

    James StiltnerJames Stiltner14 days ago
  • they still exist but are a sams /costco brand now

    dranor44dranor4420 days ago
  • My grandpa gave me that same knife before he passed, so cool to see it in the ration

    RubyRuby22 days ago
  • They still sell those finger toothbrushes that you pulled out of that package. We use them on camping trips all the time! They work great and are usually covered in some sort of mint to freshen your breath

    Ryan SmithRyan Smith24 days ago
  • is that a regular 18650 battery in the strobe?

    W SW SMonth ago
  • I have one battery for the strobe light for the leg holster if you want it I can send it to you

    Chris RChris RMonth ago
  • The part were he showed the list cracked me up I found one that said stay a wake tablets

    Xander AinsworthXander AinsworthMonth ago
  • yoire welcome (the fvk?).. whatever. im drunk..

    Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
  • awww... duder.. mystery science theatre 3000 needs to roast "topgun"

    Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
    • oh yeah the red tape is to tape the thread back onto the spool

      Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
    • oh yheres the tape for the swimmimg condom.

      Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
    • yeah. no tye condemns were for swimmimg.. wheres youre issied 3m electtical tape that goes with it.?

      Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
    • heybwas there an actual suturing needle in the sewing kit.

      Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
  • you know. i was just saying a few things about batteries the other day.. its basically a design flaw in that thr lead sulphur ones were designed to be requiring a seperate facility to recylce as compared to in my garage.. but stupidity does dictate safety guidelines.. idk.. just a fun thought about lead sulphuirc(?) car batters

    Oliver HelOliver HelMonth ago
  • “You definitely don’t wanna break your rubber” what a G

    Jacob RobbinsJacob RobbinsMonth ago
  • Can’t believe there were actual amphetamines in there! I wanted to see you test them!

    Prague UnderWorldPrague UnderWorldMonth ago
  • Paroxetine is Paxil... Antidepressant

    Marvin BrockMarvin BrockMonth ago
  • Nice fallout 76 preorder bonus

    SwitchlitefootageeeSwitchlitefootageeeMonth ago
  • I'd be dead before I could navigate that kit.

    john conwayjohn conwayMonth ago
  • I have the exact nife my papa gave me

    Alex WrightAlex WrightMonth ago
  • How much did that cost you?

    bkingk8bkingk8Month ago
  • "Ya gotta season snake"...I dumped seasoning on one just now in my backyard, it wasn't happy....

    Edward SchmittEdward SchmittMonth ago
  • Awesome Steve! Im enjoying the hech out of your work on HERE! Lets move on to the next one that interests me..

    Darryl GibsonDarryl GibsonMonth ago
  • I don't know if Steve reads these. But, he keeps loading flares with the striker down. That's bad. The primer is resting on The primer. The striker's got to be in safety notch.

    skip sheetzskip sheetzMonth ago
  • Holy crap that is a lot of stuff in a tiny package!

    Nemo and Stitch plus moreNemo and Stitch plus moreMonth ago
  • Snake will stick if your survival kit cover isn't Teflon coated.

    Christian PetersenChristian PetersenMonth ago
  • I knew that was a Camillus knife the second I saw it. Camillus made all kinds of knifes for the govt, K bars folding survival knifes many different civilian knifes. I own a few, my favorite being a small two blade pocket knife with carbon steel blades and attractive yellow handles. Anyway, a great old American Company.

    Christian PetersenChristian PetersenMonth ago
  • The knife is crap, had one when I was overseas, broke on me when I REALLY NEEDED it to work.

    Great GonzousGreat GonzousMonth ago
  • Hello i am a big fan of vietnam era indumentary the americas during the conflit they make such good staff i love it the uniforms the wapons so fasinating

    Mauriciomartinez MartinezMauriciomartinez Martinez2 months ago
  • Sees a bag of condoms "This is a useful water recepticle"

    Zam NodorszkZam Nodorszk2 months ago
  • Any Vietnam MRE

    Mark HodgsonMark Hodgson2 months ago
  • Stop donating amazing items keep them to pass on and show your grandkids!

    Adam AAdam A2 months ago
  • Where do you find these kits as I’d love to own one??

    Lee BartlettLee Bartlett2 months ago
  • I really want that Camillus knife.

    Iron horse RanchIron horse Ranch2 months ago
  • Best survival video ever... Thanks

    darryl hanssondarryl hansson2 months ago
  • 😮...MacGyver could've saved the world with all these gizmos and gadgets in this kit...👌🏼💯✔

    The WorstThe Worst2 months ago
  • That’s a K-Bar fighting knife homeboy

    TheNewyorkdragonTheNewyorkdragon2 months ago
  • That's the kinda soap you loose if you tried to clean your ass

    deathridersdeathriders2 months ago
  • My man shoots the flare. Nice.

    Codie FitzCodie Fitz2 months ago
  • I LOVED that you did a few flares for us. You're the best Steve!

    Joseph MillerJoseph Miller2 months ago
  • Why the hell did you smell the battery? Lol.

    Charisma_2XPCharisma_2XP2 months ago
  • A couple of these things are redundant and that is also important. Might lose half the stuff if you're on the run.

    Kez DxxKez Dxx2 months ago
  • How funny would it be, if when he turned on the beacon just a bunch of Military personnel showed up to rescue him?

    Budd JuniorBudd Junior2 months ago
  • Just a thought the sticky backing could be layed out as a glue trap for snakes and rodents

    tomo345tomo3453 months ago
  • "Other Bloodsucking Insects..." Oh, he means Communists.

    Tax manTax man3 months ago
  • Looks like they took well care of our soldiers at the time.

    ktucker147ktucker1473 months ago
  • Thank you Steve , love your videos

    Chip ChaffeeChip Chaffee3 months ago
  • I'm wondering where to buy all those kits? When i search for it on the web, i only find modern kits.

    Master LukeMaster Luke3 months ago
  • I was told by an old Nam combat medic that were issued superglue in a spray can to close wounds.

    Bo HarrisBo Harris3 months ago
    • They still use it or something similar. So call "instant bandages" or "invisible bandages" etc. for small cuts.

      S IS IMonth ago
  • LED bulbs in 1967?

    Bo HarrisBo Harris3 months ago
  • Nice

    LostValleyLostValley3 months ago
  • 19:43 ORANGE MAN BAD..... ORANGE MAN BAD MUST DISCONNECT!!!!!!

    OgreOgre3 months ago
  • darvocet prob killed more people than it helped.

    David DavidsonDavid Davidson3 months ago
  • Malaria tablets, my arse. Clearly they were suicide pills. Doctors agree, chloriquine kills 100% it's patients 62% of the time.

    Caleb FCaleb F3 months ago
  • Who else noticed the matches smoking

    Lazaro ZepayaLazaro Zepaya3 months ago
  • I soooo wish he unscrewed the end of the survival knife

    SkyBlue 1988SkyBlue 19883 months ago
  • No cook snek

    josh656josh6563 months ago
  • dapat darimana tuu

    Agus PramonoAgus Pramono3 months ago
  • those things threaded with the flare shooter is engineous

    who am iwho am i3 months ago
  • any of these old kits that you are still looking for a place to donate, I am a member of my local American Legion and VFW and we would like to have something like this to put in a display in our hall. we still have a few Korea and Viet Nam vets, a lot of us are cold war ( myself included) and we are getting a few of the OEF/OIF GWOT vets in these days as well.

    Other Than Intended PurposeOther Than Intended Purpose3 months ago
  • Preview of how steve works the clit at 31:21 🤣🤣🤣

    Adam AAdam A3 months ago
  • for its size its impressive

    Dreadnought 1Dreadnought 13 months ago
  • I feel so bad for the SOB that had to use everything in this kit!

    Scientia991Scientia9913 months ago
  • esta a la venta ,que precio tiene

    MOEMORALESAPAMOEMORALESAPA3 months ago
  • Survival kit?just join Vietnamese people's army!

    Lam[goldenboy] DoLam[goldenboy] Do4 months ago
  • Wierd how they call it a “holster” yet there is clearly no place to store a firearm

    Michael AisbittMichael Aisbitt4 months ago
  • Dextroamphetamine is the generic name for adderall. I'd be interested in what the legality of being in possession or the sale of that is since it's a controlled substance.

    SamSam4 months ago
  • "Shoot, a fella’ could have a pretty good weekend in Vegas with all that stuff"

    Frank TowerFrank Tower4 months ago
  • Are you still going to do that other survival vest?

    Chris HeadChris Head4 months ago
    • yeah man I just went searching for it to no avail

      THEODSTKING117THEODSTKING1174 months ago
  • First Blood

    Louis RichLouis Rich4 months ago
  • The flare launcher is basically a zip-gun without the barrel. It would have been cool if they added a barrel and a few rounds of .22 for hunting and defence.

    YoutubehasaidsYoutubehasaids4 months ago
  • Ha lol stay awake tablets

    Undying ScorpioUndying Scorpio4 months ago
  • ayyy camillus ccutlery, 1 mlle from me

    JuliaJulia4 months ago
  • Con sâu làm rầu nồi canh

    undeva candvaundeva candva4 months ago
  • Dude those stay awake pills are a controlled substance, also, they're worth 4000 USD.

    RM 5000RM 50004 months ago
  • its got anphetamine speed in it

    bobby obobby o4 months ago
  • I wonder how many pilots ever had to use this equipment?

    RR ExtraRR Extra4 months ago
  • 27:16 I thought that was a condom tbh

    phantom nova14phantom nova144 months ago
  • wow!

    Weliton Bigot MeloWeliton Bigot Melo4 months ago
  • Where is the 45

    Brian WeissBrian Weiss4 months ago
  • Jet Pilots had a cash of Gold Coins in the Belts they wore.

    Robert MaxwellRobert Maxwell4 months ago
  • I wanted to see the knife

    aaron anstettaaron anstett4 months ago
  • Never seen such a hefty survival saw. That is actually a frickin interesting kit. Love your hobby/job, Steve. Thanks for sharing.

    BABA4 months ago
  • Is the foam around the fishing baits a "make-shift" bobber?

    James ZJames Z4 months ago
  • My grandpa flew in Nam' on a bomber crew and said the only thing he needed was his revolver, because he wasn't going to be taken alive.

    AlzorAlzor4 months ago
  • Saws, razors, ropes, leather straps, condoms, whistles, candle wax, amphetamine tablets, tinder?Sounds like an erotic survival kit to me. Gotta keep moral "up" right?

    Jeffrey GastonJeffrey Gaston4 months ago
  • I imagine chili powder would be helpful for gastrointestinal parasites

    SockemSockem4 months ago
  • I wonder that matches was made from white phosphorus, when you opened it there was some kind of white smoke. Its a reason why people use some kind of protection when work with old crap. In 24:39

    prasaiteprasaite4 months ago
  • But if the rubber wasn't broken you wouldn't be getting my view right now man

    Chuck MedleyChuck Medley4 months ago
  • from Việt Nam with love

    Chánh VũChánh Vũ4 months ago
  • My father has a British navy distress beacon that he brought home and I remember the smell of the battery, horrible

    Syntax ErrorSyntax Error4 months ago
  • Mm.... nice hiss 👍

    aweffsaweffs4 months ago
  • will the net me from the xxxxxxxxxx wife lol

    terry stockstillterry stockstill4 months ago
  • The original Camillus Company went bankrupt in 2006

    Jim LeeJim Lee5 months ago
  • I'll bet ribbed condoms boil water faster.

    Andrew SpiceAndrew Spice5 months ago
  • 20:23 Some fine calluses.

    Chauncy RaymondChauncy Raymond5 months ago
  • I have that knife! With the case!

    Ur mom Is hotUr mom Is hot5 months ago
USkeys