1906 US Army Emergency Ration Preserved Survival Food Testing 24 Hour MRE Review

Mar 7, 2020
2 379 618 Views

A truly astounding food discovery, this incredibly well preserved vacuum sealed can of pemmican and chocolate stood the test of time. The first true long-term storage survival ration, it was ahead of the rest of the world's packaged military food technology. Back then, (and for many years after) it was the most advanced packaged/processed food in the world. In this video, we take a look at US Rations (Used by the AEF) of 100 years ago, their history, and find out how well the US Army Emergency Ration holds up over time.

Table of Contents:
- Intro: 0:00
- U.S. Army Emergency Ration: 0:33
- Trench Rations of the AEF: 3:03
- Opening the 1906: 9:30
- First Bite: 16:24
- My Place for Dinner: 23:06
- Second Layer: 49:46
- A Ready Porridge: 1:08:08
- Fried: 1:20:01
- End: 1:33:10
Review filmed February 27th and March 2nd 2019 - a few more gems from last year still in the archives, but this one was really due to get out there. This is essentially the theatrical version. A shortened and also a more comprehensive version are planned future projects. Until then, I plan to release my Reserve Ration review next for this era.

(Merch)
teespring.com/stores/steve1989
For correspondence, or to send a Military Ration for review, my mailing information is:
Steve1989
3616 Harden Blvd
#360
Lakeland, FL 33803
(Patreon)
www.patreon.com/user?u=2821334&ty=h

And thank you everyone for watching & subscribing - hope
you enjoyed this one, as I certainly did making it!
-Steve
** All Music By: Steve1989MREinfo **
gschultz9:
uskeys.net/user-gschultz9
Delicious: uskeys.net/channel/UCo9H0eftrfhVbu9BsrZzK5g.html
stickyfingaz745:
uskeys.net/channel/UChEqR37txqYozXbbitVDd7A.html

gundog4314:
uskeys.net/channel/UC7dAKknI_zWUNcz36T0Lp6w.html
emmymadeinjapan: uskeys.net/channel/UCzqbfYjQmf9nLQPMxVgPhiA.html

Paul Buikema:
uskeys.net/channel/UCQ51mn3lFHIyMYxX74ViCPg.html
Elandil:
uskeys.net/channel/UCspVo4xdz9JPpPV6d6jp9wQ.html

Comments
  • That was awesome thank you again

    Chris RChris R2 hours ago
  • You need to invest in a set of mini tin snips. You straight mauled that 1906 , granted it did break off but damn haha. Great videos man ive just found you on youtube and im mesmerised. So you got a new subscriber from Scotland bro

    James GoodfellowJames Goodfellow4 hours ago
  • Is it grainy?

    Mikha'el OvalleMikha'el Ovalle4 hours ago
  • I bet that stuff could make you shit through a keyhole, lol.

    Matt DouglasMatt Douglas15 hours ago
  • I would love a couple crates of these for the troubled times ahead.... did anyone else think he shouldn't have put salt but rather the cocoa in the porage?

    badas45badas45Day ago
  • Wow Steve I can’t believe you spent that much but anyways I love your videos...even tho I have a short attention span I can sit here and watch for hours because you’re so informative and interesting.

    Jay RogersJay RogersDay ago
  • Looks like Taco Bell meat

    Karl BridgersKarl Bridgers2 days ago
  • Steve outchea paying big boy bucks foh dem ancient hiss moments, for us.

    jannis joplinjannis joplin2 days ago
  • My grandfather was born in 1906 - he passed in 2000.

    Theresa MarieTheresa Marie2 days ago
  • Spanish Flu : *Powerrrrrr*

    Rou ChannelRou Channel4 days ago
  • Wow, my Grandma was born in December of 1906. She died in 1999. Crazy that you have food manufactured the month and year she was born.

    Shana de la GataShana de la Gata4 days ago
  • Raw sewage beef broth wheat cereal. Decadence.

    picsmics4picsmics44 days ago
  • Who else said “nice hiss” before the slo mo

    joe429tjoe429t4 days ago
  • It was made the same year of the 1906 earthquake in San Francisco.

    D ED E4 days ago
  • I love how his pliers are old and rusty.

    Chiraq Goofy JrChiraq Goofy Jr5 days ago
  • okay but am i the only one that thinks steve is handsome??

    lydia lowelydia lowe5 days ago
  • It's like fear factor but he loves it

    woodstockwoodstock9 days ago
  • Too slow

    ClanClaudiusClanClaudius10 days ago
  • "Alright I'm back, it's been about 30 minutes and I feel fine." Oh thank god, now I can breath.

    vcrbetamaxvcrbetamax10 days ago
  • 1

    jstnjns8927jstnjns892711 days ago
  • Love that shirt!!

    Lawrence KassabLawrence Kassab11 days ago
  • The music he uses always trips me out

    Fuck OffFuck Off11 days ago
  • So brave , so interesting. !

    Mc Floater07Mc Floater0711 days ago
  • "food for fish" best line on you tubes

    Shawn SwigartShawn Swigart12 days ago
  • Steve are making burgers for his friends. Everyone are looking forward to it. Here you go, hamburgers made from 100 year old meat. Everyone are going, Eeeeeh......

    DarkZtormDarkZtorm12 days ago
  • Black pepper looks like a bug

    Vickie PietzVickie Pietz12 days ago
  • Someone needs to send him a nice toilet seat. I feel like he spends a lot of time in the bathroom after these.

    Dr. Mike MurdockDr. Mike Murdock13 days ago
  • I bet you could make some good cocoa gravy

    John Pruitt PruittJohn Pruitt Pruitt13 days ago
  • I loved the taste of fish food as a kid& DRY dog/cat food too

    John Pruitt PruittJohn Pruitt Pruitt13 days ago
  • Nice.....

    Breyvan1stBreyvan1st13 days ago
  • Interesting and thanks but falling asleep here

    Kevin MelansonKevin Melanson13 days ago
  • Steve: Opens can 1900's Spanish Flu: Hello

    Tony NguyenTony Nguyen13 days ago
  • That hiss sounded like something me cat did, from es butt.

    Galdrus LockGaldrus Lock13 days ago
  • Will it blend? That is the question...

    Don RicardoDon Ricardo13 days ago
  • Panning for gold.

    Thomas BielThomas Biel13 days ago
  • Eating History.

    Thomas BielThomas Biel14 days ago
  • Is there any concern for lead in the metal cans that the food was packaged in?

    Jackie JohnsonJackie Johnson14 days ago
  • Best salt cause its so old? Like do you think it just wills itself into existence before you eat it otherwise or......

    MrBigangryMrBigangry14 days ago
  • When hit first bit into the chocolate and went silent, I thought for sure he was a goner.

    N. QuickN. Quick14 days ago
  • That was a good hiss.

    Aaron WattsAaron Watts14 days ago
  • Which can has the equivalent calories of a McDonald’s meal.

    L BL B14 days ago
  • Vintage MRE's: The Movie

    ThatBoiThatBoi15 days ago
  • 47:55 nice burp :)

    rx6enrx6en16 days ago
  • Would you eat one of those preserved McDonald's burgers from the 70s or 80s ppl have.

    MindGemMindGem16 days ago
  • You kinda sound like Randy from Trailer Park Boys

    Marcus MoeMarcus Moe16 days ago
  • What if you were consuming a deadly virus that mutated over time, or poisons the gov used on people in those days? Actually I think there’s more poison now and things were more natural in the past

    BkzReaperBkzReaper16 days ago
  • i'm utterly curious at how you haven't contracted botulism yet

    The Angry BassistThe Angry Bassist16 days ago
  • If this man needs to have shirts that say “Nice Hiss”

    DanniDanni16 days ago
  • dremel with a cutting wheel would have made it easier and cleaner to open.

    gideon rettichgideon rettich16 days ago
  • Slow-simmered pemmican with finely-minced onion, sliced celery, diced bell pepper, cajun seasoning, andouille, and green onion. Now that's good eatin'!

    rkmugenrkmugen16 days ago
  • With everything Steve has eaten, I'm convinced he must be immune to all viruses and bacteria.

    Jennie NeedhamJennie Needham16 days ago
  • The time to eat that type of ration is when you've been encircled for a week with no resupply and you're trying to break out of the pocket.

    Rambling RecruiterRambling Recruiter16 days ago
  • I cant even imagine ever eating something so old. You are a better man than I Gungaden.

    Bryon TesterBryon Tester16 days ago
  • The Bob ross of MRE's

    DementedGigglesDementedGiggles16 days ago
  • Why do you eat while you stand up? Wouldn’t it be better while sitting?

    Rikio RikioRikio Rikio17 days ago
  • One day when we create star trek replicators. We can all enjoy 100 year old rations

    ootmaster1ootmaster117 days ago
  • lol dude that shit is over a hundred years old!!!

    sevensixtwo thirtyninesevensixtwo thirtynine17 days ago
  • Somewhere in the afterlife, an American WW1 veteran is watching this thinking “Jesus Christ boot, how do you fuck up opening a ration?!” Lol, videos are great man!

    MetalMarineMetalMarine17 days ago
  • 112 y/o soup instructions: may be boiled 5 minutes or longer. Steve: We'll let it boil for a little bit longer.

    MikeMike17 days ago
  • That was a top-five hiss for sure

    Justin AkersJustin Akers17 days ago
  • Steve getting so genuinely happy about his MRI is makes me genuinely happy for him. Steve is unlikely as it sounds, you were spreading joy to the world. Good on you sir

    Justin AkersJustin Akers17 days ago
  • $1400 for some 112-year-old food. Blows my mind, but we love we love don’t we?

    Justin AkersJustin Akers17 days ago
  • They should make a US military field rations museum, or have that as a exhibit in a museum, and they should consult Steve on what types of things were in each ration, how they tasted, how they looked, How the hissed, How nice they looked on a tray, etc.

    Justin AkersJustin Akers17 days ago
  • How do you keep from dying from eating ancient food? Did you ever get sick?

    Sandy TrusterSandy Truster17 days ago
  • Townsends has a great series on pemmican, a native american survival food that was adopted by US settlers

    unl0ckunl0ck17 days ago
  • You sir are a pioneer. I'll ride with you until the wheels fall off.

    Brison WolfBrison Wolf17 days ago
  • Awesome video Steve. What would you say is the oldest thing you have ever tried to eat in all the different things you have tried?

    James KirkJames Kirk17 days ago
  • 12:16 Pemmican't

    Flaming MooseFlaming Moose17 days ago
  • 1-800-I got yo ass now.

    tkcaingt Playztkcaingt Playz18 days ago
  • Damn have to burn all the calories provided just opening it

    Rhi AvianRhi Avian18 days ago
  • 1:17:30 ghost

    KINGTHEBEASTKINGTHEBEAST18 days ago
  • dang, the military is spoiled compared to those mre during ww1. they were basically eating flavored weight gainer back then!

    sauce_factorysauce_factory18 days ago
  • I'm scared to eat food that has sat longer than 2 days. And here's this man eating food older than my Grandma

    treydo1treydo118 days ago
  • NICE HISS!

    Steve CrowSteve Crow18 days ago
  • If eating 100 year old food was a sport, This guy would have a gold medal

    Ian R.Ian R.18 days ago
  • With a better balance of water, and some easier to access spicing It looks like it could be a halfway decent thing. Like throw some wild thyme or something into it?

    Calvin TaftCalvin Taft19 days ago
  • Has anyone realized that our great grand parents weren’t even a thought when this was made

    Clear of ConflictClear of Conflict19 days ago
  • That was an hour and a half well spent!

    Dutch BladesDutch Blades19 days ago
  • Man semi reluctantly eats $700+ 112 year old food.

    Hunts By ChainsawHunts By Chainsaw19 days ago
  • Hey Steve, you ever get sick off one of these things? Y'know, maybe misjudging if something is edible?

    Synth WolfeSynth Wolfe19 days ago
  • I smoke and get high asf and this guy has me rollin 😂😂

    Xx 1667Xx 166719 days ago
  • sometimes i wonder if this is some pokemon trading card addiction but for war history maniacs

    TheLonelyMoonTheLonelyMoon19 days ago
  • Steve with his gf, let's get you spread out onto a tray!! Nice

    Terrence AbateTerrence Abate19 days ago
  • 34:39 - My stool after one full week of Chipotle burritos.

    GabeGabe19 days ago
  • You just ate a 100 year old cow 🐄

    Serious As Fck *Serious As Fck *19 days ago
  • The island of Steve. Where all forgotten MrEs go to to be eaten

    John Santo RawluszkiJohn Santo Rawluszki19 days ago
    • It's a beautiful afterlife for them

      Monk Of Dark TimesMonk Of Dark Times15 days ago
  • So much salt added

    psychoticbastardpsychoticbastard19 days ago
  • 🙂🤔👀👍💻👍😲🤭🤔1906💀☠️🙅🙅‍♂️🍽🛑

    Vladimir OrlovVladimir Orlov20 days ago
  • Its like opening a treasure.

    Rikesh ShresthaRikesh Shrestha20 days ago
  • en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:British_Emergency_Ration_1899_-_1.png

    TubeNut NuttingtonTubeNut Nuttington20 days ago
  • I don't think pemmican would be "dry". Isn't it held together with animal fat? So it would have been like a greasy meat patty or something, right?

    TubeNut NuttingtonTubeNut Nuttington20 days ago
  • 112 year old chocolate.. sheesh, man

    jaber4lifejaber4life20 days ago
  • Why would you eat 100 year old chocolate it sounds so gross 🤢🤮

    alexis featheralexis feather21 day ago
  • 1:32:12 wtf are you talking about 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂🤣🤣

    Drunken ConspiracyDrunken Conspiracy21 day ago
  • When he takes you out for dinner and he pulls out two chili mac MREs👌

    papa Smurfpapa Smurf21 day ago
  • My ass after taco bell: 9:45

    FoxtrotFoxtrot21 day ago
  • You need someone to test all those cigarettes from old rations

    Derisive BadgerDerisive Badger21 day ago
  • Id go out on a limb and say 112yrs would be "in extremity" lol

    Kristie CKristie C21 day ago
  • Improperly makes a 110 yr old soup by not using the complete packet and then has the audacity to say it's flavorless. Lmao.

    eddie moneyeddie money21 day ago
  • thank you for spending that much money on this, look how many people get to enjoy it

    Ethan StoneEthan Stone21 day ago
USkeys