1945 C Ration Review Preserved Vintage 24 Hour MRE Testing Marathon

Nov 1, 2019
2 022 661 Views

This 74 year old C Ration set was some of the last of it's kind in this condition (Stored in Alaska). Nearly all components were perfectly preserved, and this is a thorough look at each B-unit type (6) and an accessory packet. This video is almost 100% likely to be re-released as a shorter version, or in parts. Yet, the initial release of this material was important to be viewed as a whole the first time around.
The C-Ration and the K-Ration were the main staple individual field rations used by US troops 75 years ago. Iconic and not always remembered in a fond way, this was what was eaten every single day by many soldiers for their entire 1 year service time.
My longest and highest budget video to date, this one really was a doozy. Capturing footage of an incredible and historic ration that truly did endure through the ages. I hope you enjoy this review and thank you for checking it out.
Table of Contents:
Intro - 0:00 - 04:53
Breakfast - 04:54 - 20:38
Dinner - 20:39 - 30:30
Supper - 30:31 - 37:29
Act 2 -
Intro/Opening B's & Acc Pack - 37:30 - 48:17
Tray Up & Main Meal - 48:18 - 1:18:39
Conclusion - 1:18:40 - 1:19:44
End - 1:19:45
(Merch)
teespring.com/stores/steve1989
For correspondence, or to send a Military Ration for review, my mailing information is:
Steve1989
3616 Harden Blvd
#360
Lakeland, FL 33803
(Patreon)
www.patreon.com/user?u=2821334&ty=h

And thank you everyone for watching & subscribing - hope
you enjoyed this one, as I certainly did making it!
-Steve
** All Music By: Steve1989MREinfo **
gschultz9:
uskeys.net/user-gschultz9
Delicious: uskeys.net/channel/UCo9H0eftrfhVbu9BsrZzK5g.html
stickyfingaz745:
uskeys.net/channel/UChEqR37txqYozXbbitVDd7A.html

gundog4314:
uskeys.net/channel/UC7dAKknI_zWUNcz36T0Lp6w.html
emmymadeinjapan: uskeys.net/channel/UCzqbfYjQmf9nLQPMxVgPhiA.html

Paul Buikema:
uskeys.net/channel/UCQ51mn3lFHIyMYxX74ViCPg.html
Elandil:
uskeys.net/channel/UCspVo4xdz9JPpPV6d6jp9wQ.html
LET'S GET THIS OUT ONTO A TRAY, NICE™
NICE HISS™
I'LL BE COMING BACK AT YOU WITH SOMETHING NEW OR OLD, ALRIGHT COOL SEE YA™

Comments
  • Table of Contents: Intro - 0:00 - 04:53 Breakfast - 04:54 - 20:38 Dinner - 20:39 - 30:30 Supper - 30:31 - 37:29 Act 2 - Intro/Opening B's & Acc Pack - 37:30 - 48:17 Tray Up & Main Meal - 48:18 - 1:18:39 Conclusion - 1:18:40 - 1:19:44 End - 1:19:45

    Steve1989MREInfoSteve1989MREInfo10 months ago
    • @Dan T sounds great! Probably has the same effect as fish sauce.

      Brett ScottBrett Scott13 days ago
    • @Steve1989MREInfo nice!

      Brett ScottBrett Scott13 days ago
    • @Steve1989MREInfo you rock brother 💪

      Gary TaylorGary TaylorMonth ago
    • Steve you absolutely rock brother 💪👊

      Gary TaylorGary TaylorMonth ago
    • I too Fear The Walken

      Jake BullockJake BullockMonth ago
  • 74 year old MRE ration: Still good enough to eat Food in 2020 after 7 days: Mouldy and out of date

    Ultimately_EverythingUltimately_Everything17 hours ago
    • It’s because it’s an mre

      UncleUncle15 hours ago
  • For stuff like that solidified lemon powder, you ought to get one of those small, but powerful blenders, that reduce stuff to fine powder. It'd dissolve properly then. You could hurl the sugar in with it, and blend 'em together. No worries.

    brianartillerybrianartilleryDay ago
  • No G-unit?

    azhomeboy2000azhomeboy20002 days ago
  • And here I thought Kobe beef was expensive....

    325aliceI325aliceI2 days ago
  • It's funny to me how he smacks the packs 😂🤣

    Meicy OliverMeicy Oliver4 days ago
  • I need a t-shirt that says ,, NICE LITTLE HISS !! Ow yeah

    Lee TaylorLee Taylor5 days ago
  • Some people get obsessed with LOL dolls and unbox them and all the tiny contents.....you unbox 50-year-old army rations. Same thing.

    ALEX LARYALEX LARY5 days ago
  • Old style tobbaco is just way better then nowadays

    Carolus RexCarolus Rex5 days ago
  • Too much water

    AirTran6AirTran66 days ago
  • The microscope is a nice touch, would like to see more of it and explanations of what is seen!

    HarrisonHarrison6 days ago
  • I think your supposed to suck on the Carmel

    The King of GamingThe King of Gaming7 days ago
  • That spanish peanuts, coated with dark chocolate, are named “conguitos” and are a way tasteful!

    Jose Antonio PlazaJose Antonio Plaza7 days ago
  • Here's Steve eating 74-year-old food while I am thinking about throwing out food that's 1 day overdue.

    NecidiousNecidious7 days ago
  • I actually worry about Steve consuming all of those banned food dyes in some of the food. Like the red dye in the candy coating of the peanuts.

    Douglas DixonDouglas Dixon7 days ago
  • No one makes me crave the most basic of foods like Steve

    M ElizabethM Elizabeth8 days ago
  • Nice

    1solid.chris_ Mosley1solid.chris_ Mosley8 days ago
  • 1944584884833

    ASHAB SHAMSASHAB SHAMS8 days ago
  • Jelly is dangerous to can, breeds botulism, tomatoes as well.

    mk43_GUNNER SHOCKmk43_GUNNER SHOCK10 days ago
  • lmao actually smoked the cigarette. What a legend

    A RodA Rod10 days ago
  • Its actually pronounced 'brach-is'

    Mr. McMagpieMr. McMagpie11 days ago
  • Be careful. That jelly (or jam?) container with the little whole in it could have fostered contaminants that reached the other, unpackaged food items that you did eat.

    seeingimagesseeingimages12 days ago
  • Amazing

    Marc JohanssonMarc Johansson12 days ago
  • the soundtrack is so badass.

    B. J.B. J.13 days ago
  • Dude your gonna get some crazy disease from the 40s and kill us all jk

    Mechanically MusicalMechanically Musical13 days ago
  • 1:02:54 - 1:03:09 nice

    DJ SOFTLOCKDJ SOFTLOCK14 days ago
  • I wonder if the Trudeau company of Minnesota is related to justin Trudeau the weasel of Canada

    Pork FistPork Fist14 days ago
  • 1:21:40

    7 A7 A15 days ago
  • You nailed Canajoharie. I live about 45 min from there. Good show!

    BazBoneBazBone15 days ago
  • You, sir, are an intrepid explorer to the past. You regularly tempt fate by dissecting these ancient wonders.

    Steve CastroSteve Castro16 days ago
  • This man has made me love the hiss

    D.P. HD.P. H16 days ago
  • Super badass bro!! Im from Anderson and sadly all the big companys left years ago. I have found you content is just all the around great!!👏👏

    Bogart HumphreyBogart Humphrey16 days ago
  • the coffee wrapper looks like a condom wrapper

    HONEYBLOSSOM CHERRYHONEYBLOSSOM CHERRY17 days ago
  • Why do i want to give this guy a hug

    Tiny BionicTiny Bionic17 days ago
  • (PLEASE READ IF POSSIBLE )+!Steve, I haven't watched any of your videos in a while due to being here in Solice (Mission Hospice Hospital) in Asheville, NC. I feel like you may have gotten upset with due to the Christmas Card I sent you. I know I wrote a lot in the Card but I just wanted you to know the happiness you have brought into my life since I was diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer. Guess what? No more feeding tube. I can eat what I want but I don't have a appetite. My brother brought me 2 MRE'S and I had do much fun videoing them to send to my family. I did try a bite of everything. I got a Maple Pound Cake in one and a Marble Muffin top in one and I ate it all but no type 2 coffee. Nevertheless, I hope the Christmas Card didn't upset you or bother you with what I wrote. While battling this you have helped me through much more than you will ever know. I am still going to try to order a tshirt or something from you and use it as a gown since I don't wear street clothes anymore. I want to.thank you again for being a inspiration to me through this battle. I hope this comment finds you well. Never ever stop what your doing. I was going to send you a Pancreatic Cancer Awareness tshirt to possibly wear on your show but I couldn't. God Bless You and your Family. May your channel grow and grow. I am posting this on a few of your videos hoping you will receive it soon. Please take care. Bye for now. Your #1 Fan, Julia Young

    Julia YoungJulia Young19 days ago
  • 🙂🤔👀👍💻👍🍽😋1945

    Vladimir OrlovVladimir Orlov19 days ago
  • I always thought it was 'sea' ration 😆

    suev33 3suev33 319 days ago
  • That was a perfect can. Muhahahaha ya uh huh taste like shit. I no I tried some army rations before that where old just like you. Nah I'm joking. Lol ya I like a good bit of em but only if there in around date. I got food poison before. I got several big packs years ago was gave to me and I enjoy those. But Those newer combat sandwiches I don't like. But there's a taco sandwich one that's not bad out of the case I got. But these was made to be on your feet so not to bad. I really like the caffeine gum when I had it but I stay tweaked out to much binge watching TV shows. So I did not buy anymore of that gum.

    Mike jrMike jr19 days ago
  • Where do you find these vintage products! After a million years? Lol! I absolutely love your channel!

    Tammy St PierreTammy St Pierre19 days ago
  • "If someone told me they were from 1945 right after, I'd probably say.... nice."

    Michael SMichael S20 days ago
  • You're an asshole for destroying history for clicks. Total asshole.

    FooBar MaximusFooBar Maximus20 days ago
  • More money than brains. LOL And ... destroying another piece of history for a tiny slice of YooToob "fame". Disgusting person.

    FooBar MaximusFooBar Maximus20 days ago
  • I wish my Granddad was still around so I could show him this. He fought in the Pacific.

    TubeNut NuttingtonTubeNut Nuttington20 days ago
  • I always wonder, who's that guy in the picture with the shot gun...

    Johnny5TechJohnny5Tech20 days ago
  • Dude how does he find all of these artifacts

    SpookySiouxSpookySioux20 days ago
  • Teacher: no food in class!! That group in the back: 59:52

    S.W.A.T Agent 3-1S.W.A.T Agent 3-120 days ago
  • Dude you have a soothing voice

    Peter GaskellPeter Gaskell20 days ago
  • The "NICE HISS" on the cigarette had me rollin'.

    jerry leroyjerry leroy20 days ago
  • Taste like a good salty butter cookie i could eat those watching a baseball game an someone tell me they are from 1945 id say thanks lol

    hoffieldjhoffieldj21 day ago
  • I have no idea as to how these things were perfectly preserved.

    SlimGrim602SlimGrim60221 day ago
  • The fact that the cans came in a wooden crate makes it so much cooler.

    SlimGrim602SlimGrim60221 day ago
  • Thinking after eating those for about a week, I’d kill for a salad and fresh fruit....... was that the idea? Convince your soldiers the enemy has fresh produce?

    DerrickDerrick21 day ago
  • My guy got so offended when the freaking snack fell out of his hand, but i can relate, especially when its the dollar tree popcorn bags that i get their good but its sad when you drop a good piece of popcorn

    TheGamingWelticTheGamingWeltic22 days ago
  • In 1984 the Army was still feeding soldiers C rations. Well at least the poor suckers in basic training. The cigarettes gone. It must have been good to be a smoking drill SGT. With the creamer the C ration coco could be made into a nice fudge like frosting. MRE hot chocolate not so much.

    HotRodder=RecyclerHotRodder=Recycler23 days ago
  • I'm on a diet even a 1945 ration look good

    Pierre LaplantePierre Laplante23 days ago
  • I haven't ate in a few hours and I could taste the dinner biscuit

    YeeterMcYeeter ChannelYeeterMcYeeter Channel24 days ago
  • This dude is crazy.....I love him!😂👍. He must have an iron gut because I’d be puking all over the place!🤣😂🤢🤮.

    diane sanzonediane sanzone24 days ago
  • I instinctively keep blowing on the screen to brush away the crumbs from the the jelly tin.

    Michelle MayMichelle May25 days ago
  • My grandson & I have lost our minds..... We both have to say, in chorus with Steve, “Let’s get this out onto a tray. Nice!”

    R'Lynn GoreR'Lynn Gore25 days ago
  • *_Literally 'eating' History._*

    guitawriztguitawrizt25 days ago
  • Also, who on gods green earth would dislike these? Like...nothing offensive, the video is clear about what it's about so it's not like they'd click on it and be like 'this isn't what I clicked on!' I just don't get it. Who would dislike such a 'nice' man?

    Clay DudeClay Dude25 days ago
  • How is it possible for a man to be this cool?

    Clay DudeClay Dude25 days ago
  • THANK YOU STEVE,,DISGUSTING TO THINK GRUNTS RAN ON THAT CRAP..SICKENING..STAY WELL ,,THANK YOU

    RadicalRalph RussoRadicalRalph Russo25 days ago
  • I WANT one of those coffee tins.

    Michael HuffMichael Huff25 days ago
  • *Its my turn to pick the movie*

    MrCringeFestMrCringeFest25 days ago
  • Meanwhile 90% of 2020 who rushed to stockpile food will be throwing it out because of an expiration date shortly 😆

    Ihold8starsIhold8stars26 days ago
  • Dude your videos are exquisite 👌

    BB26 days ago
  • I always wonder, is watching people eating these mre's like a fetish or something? Because these comments man, jeez lmao

    Thomas rThomas r26 days ago
  • lol damp shed with trench coats

    Chris EvansChris Evans26 days ago
  • Those cookies AKa biscuits you can still buy them in some of the Spanish owned stores

    Big GuyBig Guy26 days ago
  • Lol he gets all extra involved

    Luke PalmerLuke Palmer26 days ago
  • Nice m’kay

    Mad Dog EntertainmentMad Dog Entertainment27 days ago
  • Im watching this in the middle of the night.. and now im craving some chocolare covered peanuts... thanks Steve

    JBlazzyJBlazzy27 days ago
  • I like the eating sounds. It's asmr.

    Eric GibbonsEric Gibbons28 days ago
  • What is the pan and divided plate combo called I would like to look it up sometime

    Eric GibbonsEric Gibbons28 days ago
  • Me, in vault 111 I suddenly hear “nice hiss”, as the vault door opens.

    Some T-51 BuckoSome T-51 Bucko28 days ago
  • How is it even possible to eat a 70 years old food ? How do you know if it's good ? Ive for MREs at home that expired back in 2010 and I don't dare to try it .

    mohammed aquamohammed aqua28 days ago
  • Awesome it's like a time machine to 80 years ago . Amazing

    derick brooksderick brooksMonth ago
  • Normally I hate the sound of chewing but it doesn't bother me with your videos. I guess it's part of the experience and you're not even close to being as annoying as the chewing sounds in anything labelled ASMR! The condition of the breakfast in that first can was stunning after 75 years! Perfectly viable food, a step up from the first ones fifty years earlier, even if they too had a good hiss. I can't believe you ate that purple m&m! In the black and white photo you can't see the colours, so I'd have kept the mostly whole purple, yellow and brown ones for display, in addition to that purty green one lol. I can't believe those Lucky Strikes were still a decent smoke, I've had ciggies a couple months old that were seriously stale and unpleasant, so fresh after 75 years is amazing!

    Si74l0rdSi74l0rdMonth ago
  • Have you ever gotten food poisoning from these?

    Kirk GarciaKirk GarciaMonth ago
  • Yep “first class food”

    Max TavakleyMax TavakleyMonth ago
  • things was built to last back in them days the cans holded up . cans make today would rust after 5 years lol

    Fun at workFun at workMonth ago
  • i see these old rations, and i hear him gushing over how amazing some of the stuff is, and it makes me wonder... How did the soldiers feel about those rations back then? were they enjoying the peanuts, or were they thinking "ugh, more candy coated peanuts..." did they enjoy the coffee, or were they thinking "great... another mug of this shit"

    ZombycowZombycowMonth ago
  • Hes talking about the cigarettes like as if it is some gourmet dish explained by a master chef

    Sir waffelSir waffelMonth ago
  • lucky this didnt kill you lol

    paul cpaul cMonth ago
  • love your work, I really appreciate the information and interest you show. But what is with the crazy political ads over running your channel now?

    wafflesnfalafel1wafflesnfalafel1Month ago
  • Can you can you tell me where you get these old who's from also wanted to say down peas at at the Antarctic oh sorry I can't talk very well because I had stroke download it the I found old teens I can't say it you know your lover I'm trying to say you open them

    Kevin WoodKevin WoodMonth ago
  • Can you tell me where you get the gold cans where do you get them not that I want any I thought the no good throw them away so where do you get it from all these old rations

    Kevin WoodKevin WoodMonth ago
  • National empress biscuit company is Nabisco. Oreo nutter butter etc.

    Terry BrownTerry BrownMonth ago
  • That concoction of coffee that Steve made will definitely jack you up with a sugar high...⚡🥴⚡☕

    The WorstThe WorstMonth ago
  • What is the difference between dinner and supper..

    AverageDoggoAverageDoggoMonth ago
  • Thanks to you Steve, I can no bbn longer have a regular cup of coffee. I have to put a packet of hot chocolate in every time. Never start my day without a good army mochacino

    Jason NewmanJason NewmanMonth ago
  • Sorry for all the chewing sounds (eats) ASMR

    Ghashua MooreGhashua MooreMonth ago
  • Can’t wait to eat these biscuits (eats) taste like metal at the end

    Ghashua MooreGhashua MooreMonth ago
  • "If I had like 5 or 6 of those on a plate, I would eat them while watching a baseball game, gladly. Then if someone said they were from 1945 right after? I'd probably say, thanks" Bro you're too funny!

    Harry SandersHarry SandersMonth ago
  • I'd be willing to bet that the government could create a very potent coronavirus vaccine from Steve's blood.

    Ape BeatsApe BeatsMonth ago
  • "Yellow. Probably lemon." "...alas...earwax."

    Ape BeatsApe BeatsMonth ago
  • Always love the ww2 mres cool to see the stuff my grandpa wouldve ate in the ardennes in winter 44-45

    fuck commiesfuck commiesMonth ago
  • Now I remember, Domino sugar the company who filed a lawsuit against Domino Pizza.

    MrArthozMrArthozMonth ago
  • As long as it hisses it's safe to eat.

    Vincit VeritasVincit VeritasMonth ago
USkeys