iPhone 12 & iPhone 12 Pro - MEGA Review!

Oct 20, 2020
633 632 Views

iPhone 12 Reviewed! Go to www.brilliant.org/reneritchie and sign up for FREE. First 200 also get 20% the annual Brilliant subscription!
🐁 iPhone 12 Pro Max Review: uskeys.net/watch/U6UToamQE-M-video.html
🐘 iPhone 12 mini Review: uskeys.net/watch/vJac4SnW5RY-video.html

Yes, the iPhone 12 Pro is the same price as the iPhone 11 Pro. A bit less, even, when you adjust for storage, especially for storage upgrades.
The regular iPhone 12, though, well that’s $100 to $150 bucks more, depending on your carrier and AC adapter situation. But, for that money, you’re getting an iPhone 12 that’s closer, just far closer than ever to being an iPhone 12 Pro.
Similar redesigns, just different colors and an aluminum band with a gloss back instead of a stainless steel band with a mate back. Very similar OLED display, just not quite as bright when not showing HDR. Identical A14 Bionic chipset, just 4GB of memory instead of 6. Identical LTE and 5G, Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.0, and U1 ultra-broadband. Same App Store and Apple Store support. The only big difference is the additional telephoto camera and LiDAR scanner, and double the extra base storage.
And then, for just $150 more than that, you’re getting the full on iPhone 12 Pro with… all of that.
For me, that makes the Pro worth it. Aide from connecting to the internet, the camera is just the most important feature to me. To quote someone I met in an iPhone line, I can never go back in time to get better photos so I always want the best camera I can have at any time.
If you’re coming from an iPhone 6s or 7 or 8, even a X or XR, everything taken together, from the OLED display to the better cameras and radios, MagSafe, just everything, makes for a really compelling upgrade.
If it’s just too much cash for you, if you weren’t asking for OLED or 5G, Apple just did their Usual price drop on last year’s model as well, and you can now get an iPhone 11 with LCD and LTE starting at $600, which Might just be super compelling in 2020. The iPhone XR from 2018 is now starting at $500 as well, and this year’s new iPhone SE, which is kind of like iPhone 11 guts in an iPhone 8 body, is at $400.
If you have an iPhone XS or 11, especially 11 Pro, and you don’t just have money to burn, and aren’t on an annual update program - or, of course, work in the tech industry - then you’ve got to really, really not just want but need the new camera, especially on the 12 Pro, to even remotely consider it.
SUBSCRIBE
🔔 uskeys.net/user-reneritchie
REFERENCES
Apple A1 Deep Dive:
uskeys.net/watch/dbpCHo3YWZk-video.html
iOS 14 with John Gruber: uskeys.net/watch/ydwFJoV2QpQ-video.html
iPhone SE Review:
uskeys.net/watch/U0eZnYR9LUg-video.html
iPhone 11 & iPhone 11 Pro Review:
uskeys.net/watch/DxaoRJZ01FI-video.html
All iPhone 12 Videos:
uskeys.net/watch/g2Kb3Rjvp8A-video.html
All Review Videos:
uskeys.net/watch/kcBveW7D6O8-video.html

SPECIAL THANKS
Patreon supporters who help make these videos possible:
Luminous Moose, Daniel Pasco, Jeffrey David Marraccini, Bill Duenges, Chad Valencia, Odi Kosmatos, Mark Lussier, Martin Perry, Connor Porter, Christopher Wiggins, Jon Wheeler, Josef, Frederick Lakes Jr., Steven Perry, Scott Graham, Aziz Rahman, Nick Florez, Robert Simplicio, Ruben Flores, Philippe Bueche, Michael Dreves, Sam Fingold, Front Page Tech, Sven Jasper, Clive, Kyle Giglio, Lance Advanced, Sridhar Ayala, Dude, Rod Gray, Samantha Alice Raven
Get access to exclusive Discord, previews, and the opportunity to see your name in the credits:
🙏 www.patreon.com/reneritchie
APPLE TALK PODCAST
Apple: podcasts.apple.com/ca/podcast/apple-talk/id1532933019?i=1000492160142
RSS: rss.art19.com/apple-talk
USkeys: uskeys.net/channel/UCrunioydAXI6z5yuJIHk-0Q.html
NEBULA subscribers get a bonus topic each week:
Audio: watchnebula.com/apple-talk-podcast
Video: watchnebula.com/apple-talk
Index:
0:00 - iPhone 12 & Pro Intro
0:18 - iPhone 12 & Pro Pricing
3:22 - iPhone 12 & Pro Design
7:20 - iPhone 12 & Pro Display
15:25 - iPhone 12 & Pro Camera & LiDAR
23:42 - iPhone 12 & Pro Dolby Vision Video
26:40 - iPhone 12 & Pro Performance
29:38 - iPhone 12 & Pro 5G & LTE
33:42 - iPhone 12 & Pro MagSafe Power
38:08 - iPhone 12 & Pro Conclusion
42:42 - iPhone 12 & Pro Buying Advice
MORE
⭐️ Nebula: watchnebula.com/reneritchie
🐦 Twitter: twitter.com/reneritchie
📸 Instagram: instagram.com/reneritchie
🌎 Web: www.reneritchie.net
🍎 Podcasts: apple.co/reneritchie
🌥 Overcast: overcast.fm/p1644160-NUVafv
👖 Pocket Cast: pca.st/reneritchie
Thanks for watching, see you next video!

Comments
  • 🐁 iPhone 12 Pro Max Review: uskeys.net/watch/U6UToamQE-M-video.html 🐘 iPhone 12 mini Review: uskeys.net/watch/vJac4SnW5RY-video.html

    Rene RitchieRene Ritchie24 days ago
  • trying out the iPhone 12 Pro Max after my Samsung S20 ultra - i felt like I had moved from a colour TV to a black and white TV. Honestly iPhones are way behind.

    ourtvchannelourtvchannel2 hours ago
  • If Rene's review is 45 minutes than Flossy must be releasing a 3 hour movie

    Bách Bùi XuânBách Bùi Xuân2 days ago
  • If you have more then 1 iPhone 12s you better be a USkeysr

    johntheGoat 23johntheGoat 232 days ago
  • The 12 pro max vs 12 yes bc of battery life 12 pro vs 12 no only xtra camera and no frosted glass

    Johnathon's Tech ReviewsJohnathon's Tech Reviews4 days ago
  • I'm scared how indepth this review was

    Sagun ManandharSagun Manandhar7 days ago
  • 18:37 whats that light/fan you got in the background?

    Ca`Dien ChristieCa`Dien Christie11 days ago
  • R

    Ray BeauregardRay Beauregard12 days ago
  • The brilliant segway was brilliant

    K HK H14 days ago
  • I really want to know difference between 4gb ram and 6gb ram.

    Akshay GuptaAkshay Gupta18 days ago
  • Awesome.

    The BeardThe Beard19 days ago
  • I got mine through *cyberwizard19 on instagram* at a low discount, that guys is a life saver indeed💯 ✅

    Gene EdwardGene Edward19 days ago
  • My iPhone 12 pro was shipped to me with defected speakers. Apple made me send it back to them before sending me a new one? WTF? What am I supposed to use while the 2 weeks that it will probably take to send me a new phone? Totally unacceptable!! What a horrible experience. I guess Apple doesn’t really care about customer satisfaction. I’m not very happy with this experience.

    Tam V. ÐinhTam V. Ðinh19 days ago
  • I’ve had my 12 Pro for 3 days and I absolutely love it. It’s a fantastic size, and it doesn’t feel too big, coming from a first gen SE. The screen looks great, and so far the battery is fantastic! It is blowing away my SE battery.

    Brad DeRousseBrad DeRousse20 days ago
  • Great review! Awesome production value!

    Matt TMatt T20 days ago
  • Come on Rene @ 6:10 you could have found another word. Impregnated was too much 😂 Edit: time stamp

    Mike NiceMike Nice21 day ago
  • Come on Rene @ 6:15 you could have found another word. Impregnated was too much 😂

    Mike NiceMike Nice21 day ago
  • I did a review of the ps5 you should go watch it 😁 and the iPhone 12!!

    TechWorldTechWorld21 day ago
  • LiDar @ 22.00

    Jeff BohnJeff Bohn22 days ago
  • Me just sitting here and thinking "I cant afford it" 🙂

    Water maloneWater malone23 days ago
  • I’m changing from a 6S to a 12 pro so I think I’m going to notice a big difference can’t wait.

    FilmerfilmsFilmerfilms23 days ago
  • Debating between pro or pro max. Currently using 7 plus and one plus 6t.

    SC CSC C24 days ago
  • Recommend a brand for everybody:WiWU This brand has been working offline for 10 years. Its products are not only well designed, but also of higher quality than your expect. The current products including a full range of iPad accessories, such as paper film, stylus pen, protective cases and USB-C docking stations. Phone accessories, such as mobile phone case, tempered film, fast charging cable, charger, etc. There are other products that are more appreciated, friends in need can follow and search WiWU.

    LV DSLV DS24 days ago
  • 06:45 Why did I get so nervous 😫😅

    André Every Other DayAndré Every Other Day24 days ago
  • DOES YOUR IP12 HAVE WARM TINT Does your IPhone 12 have yellower/warmer screen compared to IPhone 11/Pro,Xs,X? I checked about 15 iPhone 12 in diffrent stores and every had a warmer/ yellow tint screen compared to the previous iPhone’s. Im asking because i want to know is that a screen defect, previous iphones also had it but now literally every 12 seems to have it

    mlodyiceblue emlodyiceblue e24 days ago
  • Imagine being upset about a phone screen refresh rate.. in a world like this

    tiger destefanotiger destefano25 days ago
  • reference of barry allen was hilarious 🤣

    Anas AhmedAnas Ahmed25 days ago
  • Cheers for the Voltron lions!

    Gary MeacherGary Meacher25 days ago
  • I just ordered a 12 Pro in graphite through my AT&T store. Pacific Blue models are backlogged and currently aren't scheduled to ship until December 17. I wasn't determined to only get it in Pacific Blue, so I asked about how long until I could get the Graphite model, and that one will be shipped to me by November 17. So, Graphite it is!

    Brad DeRousseBrad DeRousse26 days ago
  • Imagine being upset about a phone screen refresh rate.. in a world like this

    OoTZOMMMoOOoTZOMMMoO27 days ago
  • He speaks GEEK :)

    JohnnyOJohnnyO27 days ago
  • I still have no idea what “deep fusion” is.

    Ryan ConklinRyan Conklin29 days ago
  • Apple's display? really??!!

    T ChowdhuryT Chowdhury29 days ago
  • I’m so caught between 2 minds, with a baby on the way this is going to be my last upgrade for a very long time, and I can’t decide between the mini or the pro max. I love how the mini looks but the pro max has the lovely camera and extras. What do I do 😭

    RhinoVanDamRhinoVanDam29 days ago
  • excellent full review double r and my compliment to your photographic assistant, my ? is will there finally be an edge to edge screen notch less wireless i phone # ? coming in 2021 or beyond considering that for me i,ll just let 2020 end before i consider upgrading or buying a new $martphone. Happy holidays!

    xcalibur1011xcalibur101129 days ago
  • Subbed

    Miguel PiMiguel Pi29 days ago
  • Finally!!! You help me out alot. I've been wondering what phone to get for three days and I'm going to get the 12 Pro. You clearly know your stuff. Great video.

    Nick EvansNick EvansMonth ago
    • Also, I subscribed and like the video.👍

      Nick EvansNick EvansMonth ago
  • A bunch of people have done a drop test and the glass shatters to the point where they have pieces sticking upwards

    Mr EarthshomeMr EarthshomeMonth ago
  • The better camera in the max is tempting but the pro has an excellent camera, awesome video capture and a better size for me. I wish the cost of the 11 pro would go way down but it's roughly the same price

    legniak1legniak1Month ago
  • Does it seem like the over sharpening of the 11 has been moderated a bit in the 12?

    Anthony NovelliAnthony NovelliMonth ago
  • iPhone 12 sold separately.

    RNJudasRNJudasMonth ago
  • Your review is very comprehensive. Well done !

    J TohJ TohMonth ago
  • I love apple 🍎

    Aniyah BryantAniyah BryantMonth ago
  • iphone 6s' video seems to be the best and less noise.

    Burger HamBurger HamMonth ago
  • Well done to your good wife as the Model 😍

    iSpike - FILMMAKER BIKER LIVEiSpike - FILMMAKER BIKER LIVEMonth ago
  • Very well produced 👍🏻 New sub here. Cheers from Western Australia 🇦🇺 🤘🏻Buying the 12 Pro Max here

    iSpike - FILMMAKER BIKER LIVEiSpike - FILMMAKER BIKER LIVEMonth ago
  • Sir, could you reduce the duration of your videos? I mean, I agree videos are super detailed but then they are of one whole class/period (of college) length!!

    Logical IndianLogical IndianMonth ago
  • Can I See Videos In Dolby Vision On iPad Pro ?

    Ojas NimsarkarOjas NimsarkarMonth ago
  • Great review. What camera and lens did you shoot the talking head part of your review with? It looks very clean.

    Shayshahn Phearnone MacPhersonShayshahn Phearnone MacPhersonMonth ago
  • Watching this with my iPhone 12 pro

    Paxton AblesPaxton AblesMonth ago
  • Dolby Video does this mean we will finally get a crystal clear video of a UFO?

    Kenneth CripsKenneth CripsMonth ago
  • prob 1-2 yrs till they do both face and touch. considering the times both options be nice

    Abiy BattleSpellAbiy BattleSpellMonth ago
  • How is the whole video just grainy and blurry looking? Its not very easy to know if the iphones camera is good if it looks like it was taken on a iphone 6

    Dom Krissada SittichanDom Krissada SittichanMonth ago
  • You see Rene, you don't need to make it 10 to 15 min like all other youtubers, we like to hear your voice and tone for lengthy periods. This is your most popular video to date!!!

    Kevi KiruKevi KiruMonth ago
  • Wow, now this is a proper review. Definitely a subscriber. Thanks I feel completely informed. 😊

    Edgar GarciaEdgar GarciaMonth ago
  • I ORDERED THE 12 TODAY. A RED 1!

    Johnny CashJohnny CashMonth ago
  • 12 aren’t as big as xr or 11 actually smaller ↕️↔️just same screen size

    P-CanP-CanMonth ago
  • $1000 in Canada 👎👎

    P-CanP-CanMonth ago
  • Waiting for higher refresh rate

    HARPREET SINGHHARPREET SINGHMonth ago
  • Samsung again outperforms Apple for 2020!

    Bret AllenBret AllenMonth ago
  • I wasn’t planning on upgrading this year as have an iPhone 11 Pro, but going for the big boy iPhone 12 pro max. The new design and camera the main reasons. I went from a XS max to the 11 pro as was getting fed up with the big phone in my pocket, but now actually miss the big screen as reading is a bit more difficult now!

    ruhulmo71ruhulmo71Month ago
  • Love your reviews. Listen to MacBreak Weekly and really enjoy listening to you and learn a lot.

    LoveEuroFootballLoveEuroFootballMonth ago
  • I also dont like I phone but I know it is a overpriced beast if you know how to use it.. And then i saw you randomly and your channel is all about lets go against I phone....

    Me MaMe MaMonth ago
  • Very thorough, thank you!

    cohen787cohen787Month ago
  • If Rene's review is 45 minutes than Flossy must be releasing a 3 hour movie

    Sucha NolifeSucha NolifeMonth ago
  • The specs have been in normal China phone....

    Punisher DestroyerPunisher DestroyerMonth ago
  • Same phone for a decade

    wasiu animashaunwasiu animashaunMonth ago
  • I can’t wait to get my iPhone 12 Pro Max

    Joel RomeroJoel RomeroMonth ago
  • I really want to see how battery life was because mine hasn’t been the best since I bought the phone

    rotimi kayoderotimi kayodeMonth ago
  • Very good review. Would like to see one for the iPhone 12 mini and iPhone 12 pro max when they come out. I like the small form factor of the mini, but I’m not clear on what I would be missing with the higher end models to justify my appeal versus function/features other than the obvious size. I despise large phones/watches

    Malevolent AKMalevolent AKMonth ago
  • How many times have you referred to yourself as a nerd and how many more times will you? Lol

    Bro. BrownBro. BrownMonth ago
  • Where can I get those lego sets?

    Ryan PayneRyan PayneMonth ago
  • Retro future design? Common now.... 🙎🏾‍♂️

    Nick GangulyNick GangulyMonth ago
  • top man

    stuart cassleystuart cassleyMonth ago
  • Couldn’t make it pass 20 mins. through I was interested😕

    Sweet BeeSweet BeeMonth ago
  • I don't usually comment, but I have to on this video. Rene, this is the most comprehensive and well laid out video on the iPhone 12/iPhone 12 Pro out there. Thank you so much.

    Joseph SullivanJoseph SullivanMonth ago
  • At time 35:39, have you hanged your disclaimer the the iPhone 12 will charge at 15 Watts only if you use a MagSafe charger with only the Apple 20 watt power supply.

    Terry ZTerry ZMonth ago
  • My ears are hurting after watching this.

    Ayushmaan WaliaAyushmaan WaliaMonth ago
  • You have some unique ways to pronounce words.

    JesseJesseMonth ago
  • Thank you.

    Hany AlyHany AlyMonth ago
  • 👍

    J Beats and WavesJ Beats and WavesMonth ago
  • Your voice sounds a little nasal now. Sounds like you have the sniffles. Get well soon 🙏🙂

    Vincent IVincent IMonth ago
  • Hey does it have dual sim capabilities? Like dual sim slots.

    Petra AhevPetra AhevMonth ago
    • One physical sim and one e-sim

      Bryan MillerBryan MillerMonth ago
  • Why are you wear a mask outside ... I didn't know the virus was in the air .. you make me laugh

    Peter LagroovePeter LagrooveMonth ago
  • iPhone 12 mini and iPhone 12 Pro Max have not been authorized as required by the rules of the Federal Communications Commission. iPhone 12 mini and iPhone 12 Pro Max are not, and may not be, offered for sale or lease, or sold or leased, until authorization is obtained. What do you make of this on apple website?

    Muhammad UsmanMuhammad UsmanMonth ago
  • This is Vector Victor.

    Hof79905Hof79905Month ago
  • Dam rene you deserve nobel prize for boring people

    ParodyVinesParodyVinesMonth ago
  • Even Apple doesn’t know feature in their phones the ones he know😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 he’s a boring machine

    ParodyVinesParodyVinesMonth ago
  • Why would you buy a phone to watch movies at 24hz? Buy a TV.

    jakedizzlejakedizzleMonth ago
  • Why am I here I have an iPhone 7 and im too broke to buy a new one.

    Gryst TrytGryst TrytMonth ago
  • iPhone mini or me. I have been waiting for it since it was called iPhone SE2 in 2016-17

    KwarkoolKwarkoolMonth ago
  • YOU FUNY YOU HAVE MORE 1K FOR AN IPHONE BUT 20 BUCKS FOR CHARGER MORON!

    John JuxiJohn JuxiMonth ago
  • I'm very happy that your channel is growing 🥰

    Gruby KotletGruby KotletMonth ago
  • Battery died fast

    kristine Riverskristine RiversMonth ago
  • Eh he says he doesn’t care about the notch and I’m sure he doesn’t, but I can imagine the praise they’ll get once they get rid of it

    Boots the GodBoots the GodMonth ago
  • Best review by far... 🤨👍

    Zac YanZac YanMonth ago
  • What about the video camera on the iPhone 12 Pro Max ?

    KAIN'S TORMENTKAIN'S TORMENTMonth ago
  • Hi Rene - Definitely the best review I have watched by far! Thank You! (I have subscribed as a result and removed some others!). I have a iPhone XS 256GB. This works fine as a phone! I have updated every two years to the latest iPhone model. Typically I use my phone for calls, text and the camera. I use my iPad Pro for nearly everything else. I use WIFI at home and really can’t see the advantage of 5G for me especially in Australia. Your review highlights no improvement in the refresh rate and also highlights the limitations in digital zoom. Based on the recent patent for multiple lens cameras with better optical zoom and your comments I feel I am better waiting for the next iPhone 13 Pro Max to get the best camera. Once upon a time I had a separate camera and video camera but hated carrying these around all the time. My camera of choice today is my iPhone so significant improvements are important but as you say if one can afford to wait it will be better next year. Thank You!

    Tony WardTony WardMonth ago
  • Loved the detail that I will not get anywhere else! Also, don’t stiff you modeling talent. Give her name credit. Girls, and humans, like that!

    Tim HundleyTim HundleyMonth ago
    • She’s my podcast cohost, not a model. I kind of assume everybody knows her since she’s legit Internet famous. 😂

      Rene RitchieRene RitchieMonth ago
USkeys