1899-1902 British Emergency Ration Field Service Oldest MRE Beef Eaten Survival Food Review Test

Apr 16, 2018
5 150 634 Views

Check out what British soldiers ate during The Second Boer Conflict of 1899-1902 when in a last ditch effort ! This is the second oldest thing I've ever eaten (Oldest was that Hardtack) and much unexpected considering this MRE's condition. It was pretty rough - and the smell when cooking the dried beef (Pretty much a pemmican) is nearly indescribable. It was quite the experience. And for old rations up next we will see the next generation in Emergency Rations - (1918). This is pioneering in food technology - the beef was still edible. It was a pulverized, slow cooked, dried, and compressed meat by-product bar. Way ahead of it's time - this was food tech that was adopted by the U.S. Quartermaster Corps of Sustenance and Natick Food Labs decades later.
For correspondence, or to send a Military Ration for review, my mailing information is:
Steve1989
3616 Harden Blvd
#360
Lakeland, FL 33803
www.mremarketplace.com/
www.mreinfo.com/
www.patreon.com/user?u=2821334&ty=h
And thank you everyone for watching & subscribing - hope
you enjoyed this one, as I certainly did making it!
-Steve
** All Music By: Steve1989 MREinfo **

Check out the other awesome YT reviewers:

Oldsmokey:
uskeys.net/channel/UCL1wSC0Ntw8KWgTM-TRHFOQ.html
RC Gusto:
uskeys.net/channel/UCfBEYgWflPKsDI_i6AmD5sA.html
gschultz9:
uskeys.net/user-gschultz9
stickyfingaz745:
uskeys.net/channel/UChEqR37txqYozXbbitVDd7A.html

gundog4314:
uskeys.net/channel/UC7dAKknI_zWUNcz36T0Lp6w.html
emmymadeinjapan: uskeys.net/channel/UCzqbfYjQmf9nLQPMxVgPhiA.html
Kiwi Dude:
uskeys.net/channel/UCIUTBxBxmMMY2bUJqYITJxw.html

Paul Buikema:
uskeys.net/channel/UCQ51mn3lFHIyMYxX74ViCPg.html
Elandil:
uskeys.net/channel/UCspVo4xdz9JPpPV6d6jp9wQ.html
MrBrowningm1911
uskeys.net/channel/UCVoA8_rDsAcMF2UkfCO4n4A.html
dingo7055:
uskeys.net/channel/UCU8dvHS5J4Kqn79p6ScmWqw.html
SparrowMedicine:
uskeys.net/channel/UC8TnFxqRz-PTS-yowf6S5kw.html
LET'S GET THIS OUT ONTO A TRAY, NICE™
NICE HISS™
I'LL BE COMING BACK AT YOU WITH SOMETHING NEW OR OLD, ALRIGHT COOL SEE YA™

Comments
  • idk why but I like watching these videos on acid

    QuackyFlounderQuackyFlounder2 hours ago
  • Alien 👽 level immunity

    hey prohey pro11 hours ago
  • Yo Steve, serious question: how many times have you been to the ICU?

    Mike NMike N21 hour ago
  • Get the curry powder in there mate, that's why Britain colonized the place.

    blahblahblah blahblahblahblah blah22 hours ago
  • How's your stomach?

    Richard LewRichard Lew23 hours ago
  • No hiss?

    Tom ATom ADay ago
  • そんなん食ったら死んでまうぞ

    コロ助コロ助Day ago
  • Holy cow.... literally! LMAO.

    Mynawone BidnessMynawone BidnessDay ago
  • How much did that cost?

    Jace AceJace AceDay ago
  • taco bell bought those last 60 cans of beef

    Jabroni Game NightJabroni Game NightDay ago
  • I would have had it "with biscuit" l

    AJollyGoodFelonAJollyGoodFelonDay ago
  • "That smells so foul oh man... nice!" I'm fuckin dead now hahahahHa

    Hyperion-Ash GamingHyperion-Ash GamingDay ago
  • A classic episode. Better and better right to the end.

    Jeremy StahlJeremy Stahl2 days ago
  • 22:18 what makes a good politician?

    Adrian BozicAdrian Bozic2 days ago
  • that stuff killed my gratgrandfather 🤣🤣 , you can make a porage of sorts 🤮🤢🤪😜🤣🤣

    ryan capryan cap3 days ago
  • I'd be worried about bocculism, seriously worried.

    caranorncaranorn3 days ago
  • Нормальная пайка в те времена...😂

    Evgeniy GorodkovEvgeniy Gorodkov3 days ago
  • Meat from a cow that died 100 years ago

    Mohamad Zacky AimarMohamad Zacky Aimar3 days ago
  • Steve: tours Dinosaur Museum Pervasive thought: bone marrow on crackers

    Daniel *Daniel *3 days ago
  • Steve eat the honey from ancient Egypt

    King of Sea cucumbersKing of Sea cucumbers3 days ago
  • Looks like dirt

    Phoenix PPhoenix P3 days ago
  • You're a hoarder bro omfg. Why doo you keep 100 year old rotten beef and mad other shit in your other vids...

    Shon RamdehollShon Ramdeholl4 days ago
  • OMG, so gross, for that tiniest meal back then, wow, that sucks

    Macdaddy 13Macdaddy 134 days ago
  • ahh it smells sooo foul..... nioiceeeee

    LaughingSamuraiLaughingSamurai4 days ago
  • Biden extract

    MidasMidas4 days ago
  • That dead cow is older than most humans alive today.

    UB3RFR3NZYUB3RFR3NZY4 days ago
  • All tipes of epatite achieved

    Lyon ClanLyon Clan4 days ago
  • 120+ year old cow. Insane.

    Brittany HazeBrittany Haze5 days ago
  • Your nuts dude!! It tetanus, botulism, and rotten beef... mmm... sounds good!!

    wake upwake up5 days ago
  • Slavery ended around 30 something years before that ration. Holy shit.

    Sunny KaySunny Kay5 days ago
  • Steve: I'll have the aged steak." Father time: "Yes."

    Games & GainsGames & Gains5 days ago
  • I can't imagine how my Ma-Ling luncheon meat in can will look like in the year 2110.

    Ray BugzRay Bugz5 days ago
  • Probably did belong in a museum lol

    Conr3derConr3der5 days ago
  • I like how he can read perfect rust

    First LasFirst Las6 days ago
  • 22:01

    AmethystExpertAmethystExpert6 days ago
  • You're just bringing ghosts into your house.

    Stefan RijosStefan Rijos6 days ago
  • Well I'm sure any botulism in there is long since dead. Lol

    James KonzekJames Konzek6 days ago
  • “Bow-vril”nah mate that’s BOV-RIL

    The WarryorThe Warryor6 days ago
  • Legend says that steve has eaten the mre of roman soldier who stabbed jesus which was contaminated with a drop of jesus' stomach juice, that's why he has strong stomach

    Indra GunawanIndra Gunawan6 days ago
  • “Wow it smells so foul NICE!”

    Dominick GonzalezDominick Gonzalez6 days ago
  • I think we all just found out what Jack in the Box puts in their tacos...

    crosscross7 days ago
  • "Mmm meat paste"

    Floyd YeetFloyd Yeet7 days ago
  • Thats Dodo meat. I recognize it.

    Big GBig G7 days ago
  • Isn`t it dangerous to eat that?

    drumsanddrummingdrumsanddrumming7 days ago
  • Yummy! That beef looks like cow dung.

    Rage MgrRage Mgr8 days ago
  • That’s a lot smaller than I thought

    THAT ONE SCOTTISH KIDTHAT ONE SCOTTISH KID8 days ago
  • That cow lived and died before most people that are alive today.

    Adam MetzgerAdam Metzger8 days ago
  • "its nerve-wracking".... pops back into mouth lol

    Noelle TicmanNoelle Ticman8 days ago
  • The O in Bovril is pronounced in lower case

    HRHooChickenHRHooChicken9 days ago
  • *Eats 118 year old beef* Steve: "What am I doing?" *Proceeds to eat*

    Thomas NielsenThomas Nielsen9 days ago
  • Lol!

    James WolfaardtJames Wolfaardt9 days ago
  • Steve is fluent no just in foreign languages by also in invisible.

    Sam AndersSam Anders9 days ago
  • 2020 here.

    Dhimas AfihandarinDhimas Afihandarin10 days ago
  • 1:30 wow how can he read that? I can't see anything 😯😯

    Anthony HernandezAnthony Hernandez10 days ago
  • Its amazing how some sodered steel tins were able to keep that beef better preserved than anything seen nowadays. I get that meat isn't prepared like that anymore but still.

    That Guy over thereThat Guy over there10 days ago
  • It’s kind of freaking me out, eats another full spoon of it

    Daniel CevallosDaniel Cevallos11 days ago
  • Nice ☺️

    Trissy SenpaiTrissy Senpai11 days ago
  • If he gets sick or dies.. he would be the last casualty of the boar war lmao.

    Bob BuileerBob Buileer13 days ago
  • You can literally taste history

    I Made Medika SuryaI Made Medika Surya14 days ago
  • That's an old ass cow

    QuarntingQuarnting14 days ago
  • 🤮🤮🤮🤮

    Red RamRed Ram15 days ago
  • Throw away that pot Steve lol

    Aztec WhistleAztec Whistle15 days ago
  • Imagine being the cow who spent 120 years waiting to get the final piece of his ass in purgatory

    HotSprinklesHotSprinkles16 days ago
  • Lol is that legit the beef they put in jack in the box tacos?

    Conner IngleConner Ingle17 days ago
  • Imagine fighting in the second boar war and just hearing over the lines "Lets get that on to a tray, nice"

    pole23405 1pole23405 117 days ago
  • You actually consumed some of that. You're a better man than I, Ganga Din !

    J OJ O17 days ago
  • Why in the world would someone dry age the beef for that long?

    Ay ZieAy Zie18 days ago
  • “Rust n dirt n danger” you need that as a tattoo dude

    KingaKinga18 days ago
  • An old cow vein...its freakin me out *takes another bite* Ma man haha

    disguydisguy19 days ago
  • A Like For Tasting That !!!

    Sarmad JuttSarmad Jutt19 days ago
  • How many surfboards do you have?

    Mark GuthrieMark Guthrie20 days ago
  • He's got the immune system of a cockroach

    Tamim YaqubiTamim Yaqubi20 days ago
  • I bet you will eat a 4,000 year old small mummy like Homer Simpson thinking it was beef jerky

    David BermudezDavid Bermudez21 day ago
  • The lead content is the solder in those days was through the roof! Thats the metal smell LOL He has a cast iron constitution.

    Johann SchmidtJohann Schmidt22 days ago
  • Did your commanding officer give you permission Steve?

    Reagan GordonReagan Gordon22 days ago
  • I understand why you’re opening these rations but why in the hell do you eat them?!?!?!

    U.S. MilitiaU.S. Militia22 days ago
  • Were you a picky eater when you were a kid?

    U.S. MilitiaU.S. Militia22 days ago
  • Where did you get it?

    Muhammad Keenan AissyMuhammad Keenan Aissy22 days ago
  • Looks like cooked diarrhea.

    GIVE EARTH BACK TO DINOSAURS.GIVE EARTH BACK TO DINOSAURS.22 days ago
  • I wonder how many eating related Guinness records Steve might potentially hold

    George Henry JrGeorge Henry Jr23 days ago
  • Man! You must have guts of steel

    Jason CookeJason Cooke24 days ago
  • Yo quiero Taco Bell....

    74zion74zion25 days ago
  • it is like he eats 100 years old mummy in a tomb XD

    kelelalakelelala26 days ago
  • Got anything from the war of 1812? :)

    Fat ChanceFat Chance28 days ago
  • If you smell what The Steve is cooking 19:00

    Atik AnantoAtik Ananto29 days ago
  • I'm pretty sure it's not healthy to breath that it in Steve

    Jimmy NanceJimmy Nance29 days ago
  • 5 million year old frozen Mammoth discovered from the early Pliocene era. Steve: "Let's get this out on a tray. Nice!"

    Felicity MMHFelicity MMHMonth ago
  • 10:42 Looks like a clay dirt rock you'd find on the baseball field

    MisterBuklauMisterBuklauMonth ago
  • Lol. They used everything on that old cow😆

    Kerry LongKerry LongMonth ago
  • *British soldier 1 throw grenade* British soldier 2: wait that Ain't a grenade.... That's my lunch!!!!!!! *Chase it*

    GrangerGrangerMonth ago
  • *Everybody gangsta till grandpa’s old stash is still good for round 2*

    r e er e eMonth ago
  • Corona virus is always watching its back for Steve to get ahold of it. If he did RIP virus. Steve needs to be picked up by history channel. I heard old smokey did but Steve def needs to no offense to him but ive seen more ballsy things on this

    Adam AAdam AMonth ago
  • 18:33 why is there russian salt in the corner

    that’s what she saidthat’s what she saidMonth ago
  • anyone else on a Steve1989MREInfo binge?

    karonic ゝkaronic ゝMonth ago
    • @yeah buddy lol

      karonic ゝkaronic ゝ29 days ago
    • @yeah buddy i put them in my bath and bathe in them along with your tears buddy

      karonic ゝkaronic ゝ29 days ago
  • How by the grace of god is he not dead??????????????????

    CJ'S HARDCORE & PUNK MUSIC VAULTCJ'S HARDCORE & PUNK MUSIC VAULTMonth ago
  • imagine that, when this ration was made, Hitler was a 10 years old kid.

    Doug 9000Doug 9000Month ago
  • Famous last words " Could something be living in this ? "

    Fonzworth AsangaFonzworth AsangaMonth ago
  • "There's strange new pathogens under the arctic ice, but scientists have found one man who strangely has immunity to seemingly all things and have contacted him to study his immune system, seemingly not phased by his ability to eat 100+ year old rations."

    koihoshikoihoshiMonth ago
  • I seriously puked in my mouth at the end

    Ben SmithBen SmithMonth ago
  • it's a museum piece!!!!

    starseedsstarseedsMonth ago
USkeys